» » Vijay Iyer - Mutations

Vijay Iyer - Mutations download mp3 album

Vijay Iyer - Mutations download mp3 album
Contemporary Jazz, Contemporary
FLAC vers. size:
1782 mb
MP3 vers. size:
1164 mb
WMA vers. size:
1510 mb
Other formats
4.5 ★

Mutations is a studio album by American jazz pianist Vijay Iyer recorded in 2013 and released on the ECM label in 2014. Writing for All About Jazz, John Kelman said "Mutations is a landmark recording from an artist who, while already possessing an admirable discography, has clearly been limited to more decidedly jazz-oriented concerns

Mutations is not only Vijay Iyer's debut album for ECM, but also the first recording he's issued since winning a MacArthur Foundation "genius" grant in the fall of 2013. As a recording, it is certainly among his most provocative. He has not only played in string quartets, but has written for them and performed with them - and larger classical ensembles - as well evolution as a dynamic, noisy interaction between a species and innumerable, competing, fluctuating environmental factors. Each of these sections undergoes a mutation, as notation- with the interaction of the players-begin to shift and change with the introduction of an inconstancy or interruptive figure in a recurrent theme.

Iyer continued to pursue his musical interests, playing in ensembles led by drummers E. W. Wainwright and Donald Bailey. In 1994 he started working with Steve Coleman and George E. Lewis. In 1995, concurrent to his composing, recording and touring activities, he left the Berkeley physics department and assembled an interdisciplinary P. program in Technology and the Arts, focusing on music cognition.

Vijay Iyer’s first album as a leader for ECM, Mutations will widen perceptions of the pianist-composer’s work. At its centre is Mutations I-X, a composition scored for string quartet, piano and electronics. A major piece built out of cells and fragments, it veers through many atmospheres, from moment to moment propulsive, enveloping, lyrical, luminescent and strangely beautiful. Through thematic interactivity, the interweaving of acoustic and electronic textures and some decisive improvisational interventions, Iyer has created a multifaceted suite whose very subject is change.

Mutations is Grammy-nominated pianist Vijay Iyer's first album as a leader for ECM, and it's fittingly special. It's a setting for his piano and a string quartet driven by both his mathematical fascination with patterns, the freespiritedness that lets piano-improv pull the strings where it will, and his experience of chamber-ensembles as a former violinist. Built around the 10-piece composition of the album's name, and bookended by solo-piano reflections, Mutations will engage classical and jazz listeners alike

This album has an average beat per minute of 105 BPM (slowest/fastest tempos: 68/152 BPM). See its BPM profile at the bottom of the page. 1. Spellbound and Sacrosanct, Cowrie Shells and the Shimmering Sea. 7'39. BPM Profile Mutations. Album starts at 96BPM, ends at BPM (-96), with tempos within the -BPM range. Try refreshing the page if dots are missing). Recent albums by Vijay Iyer. Holding It Down: The Veterans' Dreams Project.

Vijay Iyer ‎– Mutations. Label: ECM Records ‎– ECM 2372. Format: CD, Album, Promo, Presskit. Cello – Kivie Cahn-LipmanPiano, Electronics – Vijay IyerViola – Kyle ArmbrustViolin – Michi Wiancko, Miranda Cuckson.

So, in the context of Iyer's CD 'Mutations' this writer is no less impressed and deeply inspired when listening to this solo outing. Finding a later love for the instrument especially in the context of modern jazz and electronic music. Or consider a donation? Track List.


1 Spellbound And Sacrosanct, Cowrie Shells And The Shimmering Sea 7:33
2 Vuln, Part 2 4:33
Mutations I–X
3 Mutation I: Air 4:13
4 Mutation II: Rise 2:43
5 Mutation III: Canon 5:48
6 Mutation IV: Chain 5:25
7 Mutation V: Automata 6:31
8 Mutation VI: Waves 3:00
9 Mutation VII: Kernel 5:59
10 Mutation VIII: Clade 1:34
11 Mutation IX: Descent 5:16
12 Mutation X: Time 3:58
13 When We're Gone 3:27

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – ECM Records GmbH
  • Copyright (c) – ECM Records GmbH
  • Made By – EDC, Germany
  • Recorded At – Avatar Studios


  • Cello [Violoncello] – Kivie Cahn-Lipman
  • Composed By – Vijay Iyer
  • Design – Sascha Kleis
  • Engineer – James A. Farber*
  • Engineer [Assistant] – Tim Marchiafava
  • Liner Notes – Vijay Iyer
  • Photography By [Cover Photo] – Jan Kricke
  • Photography By [Liner Photos] – Bart Babinski
  • Piano, Electronics – Vijay Iyer
  • Producer – Manfred Eicher
  • Viola – Kyle Armbrust
  • Violin – Michi Wiancko, Miranda Cuckson


Spellbound and Sacrosanct, Cowrie Shells and the Shimmering Sea
for piano

Vuln, Part 2
for piano and electronics

Mutations I–X
for string quartet, piano and electronics

When We're Gone
for piano and electronics

Recorded September 2013
Avatar Studios, New York

An ECM Production

℗ 2014 ECM Records GmbH
© 2014 ECM Records GmbH

'Not for sale' printed on the CD.
Comes without booklet or tray in a slim jewel-case - from the distributor Universal

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 02537 64798 9
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 02516
  • SPARS Code: DDD

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
ECM 2372, 376 4798 Vijay Iyer Mutations ‎(CD, Album) ECM Records, ECM Records ECM 2372, 376 4798 Germany 2014
ECM 2372, B0020038-02 Vijay Iyer Mutations ‎(CD, Album) ECM Records, ECM Records ECM 2372, B0020038-02 US 2014
ECM 2372 Vijay Iyer Mutations ‎(CD, Album, Promo, Pre) ECM Records ECM 2372 Germany 2014